Women: Enough of this shit!

Standard

I never used to pay attention to lyrics to a song before… only recently that I lean in do I realize that a) the only reason this song made it is because of the “catchy” tune that soon becomes boring after radios overplay the SAME set of songs OVER and OVER and OVER such as Im Glad You Came by The Wanted (who are terrible singers by the way and even worse performers!) and b) the lyrics have almost always to do with patriarchal and/or derogatory assumptions over women.

Justin Timberlake: “Im gonna have you naked by the end of this song…”

Beyonce:

I can feel the sun whenever you’re near

Every time you touch me I just melt away

Now everybody asks me why I’m smiling out from ear to ear(They say love hurts)

But I know(It’s gonna take a little work)Nothing’s perfect,

but it’s worth it after fighting through my fears

And finally you put me firstBaby it’s you.

You’re the one I love.You’re the one I need.

really? now one of the most admired female performers is perpetuating how we need men to make us feel happy and its what we need? Healthy relationships are good for our soul and certainly im not denying it in some march of the RA RA hear me roar, I am woman chant…. but this propaganda is EVERY WHERE: Beauty Pageants, magazines, songs, politics (yes politics), car ads, radio shows, movies, 5 Ways Modern Men Are Trained to Hate Women

Read more: 5 Ways Modern Men Are Trained to Hate Women

The author – with great insight – speaks in great detail about the undeniable attitude towards women and feminist culture.

If you’re not the type to keep up with ugly, soul-killing political controversies, let me catch you up: A while back, hugely popular political commentator Rush Limbaugh lost a bunch of advertisers because he publicly called a college girl a slut and a prostitute after she suggested that health insurance plans should cover birth control. But he’s paid to say outrageous things. If you really want to feel all dead inside, you need to listen to what the regular folk were saying.

For instance, on crazy political message board FreeRepublic.com, posters referred to the girl in the above-referenced story (Sandra Fluke) as a “Nasty, disease-ridden plodding uterus, an utter skank crack-ho filthy whore, a prostitute slutbag juice-receptacle” and a “Sperm-burpin’ gutter slut,” and said she “… is so encrusted and used, that I had to throw out my flat-panel TV because her appearance on my TV infected it with AIDS, gonorrhea and syphilis.” There are many, many more worse comments collected here and here and here.

I absolutely feel that women also do it to themselves too – they walk around parading themselves in obscene clothes, with even more obscene behavior and absolutely refuse to work on anything but how to get a man. At the same time, where are they getting their information from? where did they learn these ideas from? Likely poor father figures and ofcourse the constant barrage from their immediate media and cultural environment.

Women –  we need to stop blaming everything else and step up and say ENOUGH OF THIS SHIT! Demand more out of life than this and more respect than you yourself are giving to you. Don’t cheat yourself.
I leave you by excerpting I Am an Emotional Creature: The Secret Life of Girls Around the World – Eve Ensler

I LOVE BEING A GIRL!!!!!!!!! must listen to the video portion!
http://www.ted.com/talks/view/lang/en//id/751
watch at minute 16:00

I AM AN EMOTIONAL CREATURE

I love being a girl.
I can feel what you’re feeling
as you’re feeling it inside
the feeling
before.
I am an emotional creature.
Things do not come to me
as intellectual theories or hard-shaped ideas.
They pulse through my organs and legs
and burn up my ears.
I know when your girlfriend’s really pissed off
even though she appears to give you what
you want.
I know when a storm is coming.
I can feel the invisible stirrings in the air.
I can tell you he won’t call back.
It’s a vibe I share.

I am an emotional creature.
I love that I do not take things lightly.
Everything is intense to me.
The way I walk in the street.
The way my mother wakes me up.
The way I hear bad news.
The way it’s unbearable when I lose.

I am an emotional creature.
I am connected to everything and everyone.
I was born like that.
Don’t you dare say all negative that it’s a
teenage thing
or it’s only only because I’m a girl.
These feelings make me better.
They make me ready.
They make me present.
They make me strong.

I am an emotional creature.
There is a particular way of knowing.
It’s like the older women somehow forgot.
I rejoice that it’s still in my body.

I know when the coconut’s about to fall.
I know that we’ve pushed the earth too far.
I know my father isn’t coming back.
That no one’s prepared for the fire.
I know that lipstick means
more than show.
I know that boys feel super-insecure
and so-called terrorists are made, not born.
I know that one kiss can take
away all my decision-making ability
and sometimes, you know, it should.

This is not extreme.
It’s a girl thing.
What we would all be
if the big door inside us flew open.
Don’t tell me not to cry.
To calm it down
Not to be so extreme
To be reasonable.
I am an emotional creature.
It’s how the earth got made.
How the wind continues to pollinate.
You don’t tell the Atlantic ocean
to behave.

I am an emotional creature.
Why would you want to shut me down
or turn me off?
I am your remaining memory.
I am connecting you to your source.
Nothing’s been diluted.
Nothing’s leaked out.
I can take you back.

I love that I can feel the inside
of the feelings in you,
even if it stops my life
even if it hurts too much
or takes me off track
even if it breaks my heart.
It makes me responsible.
I am an emotional
I am an emotional, devotional,
incandotional, creature.
And I love, hear me,
love love love
being a girl.

Eve Ensler, a playwright and activist, is the founder of V-Day, a global movement to end violence against women and girls. In conjunction with I AM AN EMOTIONAL CREATURE, V-Day has developed a targeted pilot program, V-Girls, to engage young women in our “empowerment philanthropy” model, providing them with a platform to amplify their voices.

 

 


About bulandawaaz

Activities: movies, reading a smorgsbord of interesting information, hanging out with my friends, eating out, cooking, reading :D Interests: music shairi/poetry, psychology, mehndi, choorian, stand up comedy, photography, analyzing, researching, critiquing GUYLIAN CHOCOLATES hee hee Favorite Music: anything old ghazal type, Gavin McGraw, Edwin McCain, Gwen Stefani, Yaani, Dj Aqeel, Billy Joel, Led Zeplin, Pink FLoyd, Deep Purple, depeche mode, def leppard, One Republic, Wale Favorite TV Shows: That 70's Show, Will and Grace, Friends, CSI, Nip Tuck, Favorite Movies: UP, Benjamin Button, Meet Joe Black, Next, Crash, Mystic River, Big Fish, Passion of the Christ, F-911, Back to the Future, Da Vinci, Corporate, Fanaa, The River Runs Through It, Seven Years in Tibet, BORAT! Favorite Books: Blink Kite Runner City of Light Little Women Da Vinci Code State of Fear faraway bride... Stupid White Men Dude Wheres my country? Its called a break up because its BROKEN Favorite Quotations: "My family is dysfunctional and my parents won't empower me. Consequently I'm not self actualized." I love Il Canale's pizza...and hashim mamoo's mutton biryani !! i love cocking my eyebrows and smirking i love my apartment i sing a lot, especially in the shower, im in tune but my lyrics are always wrong!!!!! google up the degeneration of the Y chromosome

Leave a Reply

